A strange experience with a child Psychologist . . .

I started to write this post before we moved house – note how excited I was before the move – oh how the mood does change . . .

 

Just a quick post as we have now started to move into our new place. Yippee!

I don’t know what got me thinking about this particular experience, but I did!

I think I’ve been mentally ill since I was about 11 years old.

I started to fear going to school. There was no rhyme or reason to it; I wasn’t being bullied, I had friends (of sorts), I was a good student, I could do the work and was in all the top classes. I was also seen as a shy geek.
This fear started to get worse and worse. It was almost like a primal fear. I was trying to protect myself. I begged my mum not to make me go to school. I would be inconsolable, screaming. My poor parents just didn’t know what was going on. Neither did I.

I started saying very strange things, like begging my mum not to hit me when I was crying hysterically – she has never ever laid a finger on me in my life. My family does not and has never believed in smacking children if they are naughty. This is the very first time I have ever written about this. The first time I’ve let it out.

Why was I saying things like that? Something wasnt right in my little 11-year-old head.

I was put on special diets as the Doctor thought it might be an allergic reaction I was having. I was given vitamins, supplements.

Eventually I saw a child psychologist. All I remember is he asked me to run around the room and he would watch. He said he ‘just wanted to make sure I could still do it’.  What the fuck??

I don’t know what got me thinking about this. I suppose I’m still trying to get to grips with the Bipolar diagnosis and analysing my past.

I hope you are all feeling well and strong.

 

Much love

Karen x

8 thoughts on “A strange experience with a child Psychologist . . .

  1. Go back to that excitement!!!!!
    What the Fuck? That cracks me up! *laughing*…but your right!..what the hell did running around the room prove? *still laughing* …and WE pay them?
    I’m a magic fairy and today your going to be HAPPY!!..WHOOOSH!!!! *laughing*
    Did you feel that? xxx

  2. omg, that really made me laugh. LOL Run around the room? How does your adult mind make sense of that, now? I learned in a psychology class that our minds cannot let things go or move past things until they make sense to us. How the heck can you work with THAT?

    I love reading your posts~

Leave a Reply

