Quetiapine (Seroquel) and Pain – the Physical kind

I awoke this morning with a hideously sore back. Muscles are in  s p a s m  yet again.

I haven’t mentioned before, but  have a  t e r r i b l e  back problem.

This has been going on for 13 years. 13 years of pain. Every. Single. Day.

When I started taking Quetiapine, my back pain got exponentially worse instantly. Very scary.
The Hubby and I formed the theory that because I was soooo out of it when I started treatment, I wasn’t moving when I was asleep, as one would naturally do. So I was waking up with my back in complete spasm.

The pain was so bad it was almost like being in labour.
Lots of grunting.    Lots of swearing.    Lots of sweating.
I couldn’t move, yet the pain was so bad I couldn’t keep still.

It was a real  f i g h t  to keep taking the Quetiapine. Why should I take this medication if I would be suffering like this? I would rather take the mental pain than the physical as it was so bad during that time.

But I got through it.

Quetiapine now has a softer grip during the night. I find I am sleeping a bit more naturally.

But sometimes, like this morning, it gives me a little nudge. A reminder.

I am awaiting treatment for my back, not surgery (yet!), but pain therapy and spinal physio.

Dealing with mental and physical pain is  e x h a u s t i n g .
But it does prove to me that I am bloody strong at times. I do have a lot of fight in me . . .well I do today at least.

I hope you are all feeling strong,

Love Karen x

2 thoughts on “Quetiapine (Seroquel) and Pain – the Physical kind

Leave a Reply

