Medication… you cheeky devil.

M e d i c a t i o n . What a pickle. Its a big decision for someone to make, especially when you are already confused and not feeling yourself.
I’ve heard some people with Bipolar disorder function without medication.  I however, am not one of those people. Or at least I don’t think I am?!

I’ve been taking anti-depressants for about 12 years, with minimal effect. I’ve tried several different ones during that time.  The psychiatrist said maybe the reason Ive not responded to the anti-depressants Ive tried so far is due to the fact I need ones better suited for Bipolar depression.

So the medication I’m on at the moment is:-

Duloxetine 60mg
Pregabalin 450mg
Quetiapine 300mg.

Quetiapine is the new medication I started on 06.08.12, and the side effects have knocked me for six!
But really  d o n ‘ t  let that put you off taking medication.  The Duloxetine and pregabalin have really helped me.

I’m sleeping a  l o t  at the moment and I feel a bit ‘other worldly’, but I have noticed my anxiety has improved.

So I’m happy to keep trying the new medication, and hope the side effects wear off.

Hope you are all healthy,

Karen x

Leave a Reply

